How do I apply for a handgun license?
No permit is required for the purchase of a rifle or shotgun. No rifle, shotgun or handgun may be sold to a minor under 18 years of age, a convicted felon, or a person under indictment.

To purchase a handgun from a private individual, the buyer must obtain a license to purchase from any local police or sheriff department. The buyer must be 18 ears of age, a U.S. citizen, a resident of Michigan, have no felony conviction, have never been adjudged insane (unless later restored by court order). If an individual purchases a pistol from a Federal Firearms Dealer, a License to Purchase is not required. However, a pistol sales record must be completed and the seller's FFL number must be recorded on that form.

The license to purchase must be filled out in triplicate at the time of purchase. The license shall include a description of the handgun sold and the signatures of both the buyer and seller. The seller may retain one copy and the buyer retains a copy, and the last copy is reserved for the Michigan State Police. After purchase and delivery of the handgun is completed, the buyer must return the license to a local licensing (law enforcement) authority within 30 days.

One copy of the license will be held by the local authority for six years and the remaining copy shall be forwarded to the State Police. The license, once issued, becomes void if not used within 30 days. A valid Michigan CPL holder is exempt from license to purchase requirement, however is still subject to the registration requirements and a criminal background (NICS) check.

Show All Answers

1. How do I apply for a handgun license?
2. How can I legally carry a handgun and what is the difference between a CCW and a CPL?
3. How do I get a copy of an accident report?
4. How do I get a copy of a police report?
5. Do you do employment fingerprinting?
6. Do you do court ordered PBT (preliminary breath test) testing?
7. How do I obtain a criminal history background check?
8. How do I get a Personal Protection Order (PPO)?
9. Where do I obtain a bicycle license?
10. Where do I obtain a dog license?
11. How do I obtain a solicitor's permit?
12. What are the curfew times for the City of Richmond?
13. Can I park my car on the street?
14. Where can I find a copy of all of the City of Richmond’s ordinances?
15. What are the new changes to the seat belt laws and child restraints?
16. How do I get a burn permit?
17. How do I place my home on the vacation house check list?